HUG ME I'M VEGAN

vegan on a budget

About March 1, 2012

First, the boring stuff:

Name: Ilana

Location: Baltimore, MD

Hometown: Oak Park, IL (right next to Chicago).

Vegan since 2005

Vegetarian since 2000

Home life: husband (Mr G), 2 cats (Kitty and Dude), 2 hedgehogs (Sprinkles and Twinkles) in a 2-bd apartment downtown

Religion: Atheism, secular Judaism

Medical diseases: IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome), Crohn’s, and Bipolar II,

Occupation by day: marketing applications engineer (basically I work in an office)

Education: BS Mechanical Engineering

 

Then the fun stuff:

Basically, I’ve been an animal person my whole life, of course. My close friend and I went vegetarian together at age 13 for the animal rights, and then vegan together at 18, for the animal rights (moral and ethical), environmentalism, and health. In 2012, I’m now 25, married, with a job and pets (minus the picket white fence). I love to cook and bake, and that’s mostly what motivated me to start this blog. I also try to go to the gym 3 – 4x/wk and I love Zumba, Body Combat, and yoga, to offset the baking (lol!) and relieve a lot of stress (I’m kind of just a stressful person in general oops). I will try to focus on veganism and how it affects one’s life, and will occasionally touch on digestive diseases and mental illnesses.

My aim with this blog is to address the questions everyone gets asked: 1. What do you eat? (Everything! All plants!) and 2. But isn’t being vegan so expensive? (It’s the least expensive way to live, actually).

Please don’t hesitate to get in contact with me via email at hugmeimvegan (at) gmail (dot) com.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s